Message from Principal Hedlund

Dr. Phyllis HedlundPrincipal Newsletters

Principal's Newsletter

Dear Families,

Happy Friday! We launched our first 4th grade CARE class and increased capacity in our 3rd grade CARE classroom, and Madame Gadie, Senor Hernandez, Coach Langrock, Mr. Muskett and Ms. Pereira all returned to the building. Big news is that it will no longer be 3rd grade CARE. Starting next Thursday, it will be in-person learning with Mr. Mack.

Next week, Ms. Hunter, Ms. Johnson and Dr. Leonard return to teach in person. Ms. Rajwani, Ms. Saxton, Ms. Murali and Mr. Clayborn increase their class sizes. We will have 210 students in attendance, putting us at 57% of our students returning in person. Thank you to everyone as we shift and change rooms, dismissal locations, and at times, homeroom assignments. I am so excited to turn a corner and see a child or hear a class outside my office during lunch. It is wonderful to have students and staff back here again!


4/25/21 Shepherd Elementary Beautification Day 10:00 am

Please come out with garden tools if you have them to help tend our beautiful gardens that Simon Messing nurtures with love and devotion. Thank you Mr. Messing for all you do!

2022 DC Teacher of the Year Nominations 

OSSE is currently accepting nominations for the 2022 District of Columbia Teacher of the Year award. The nomination window closes on Friday, April 30, 2021.  

OSSE is seeking nominees who:

• Inspire and accelerate growth for all students
• Build strong partnerships with families and communities
• Champion the teaching profession

To be eligible for this award, a candidate must be a current teacher in a public school or public charter school in the District of Columbia, must have five years of teaching experience, and must plan to continue as a teacher in DC for the 2021-22 school year. Pre-K, K-12, and adult education teachers are all eligible for nomination.

Please complete the nomination form here by the deadline of Friday, April 30, 2021. Administrators, colleagues, LEA and school staff, parents, students, and community members can all submit nominations